Personal Pet Peeve and Traffic Safety Issue

Today I am going to vent a little on one of my personal pet peeves that relates to traffic safety. 

Private Drives and Public Roadways

Once again this past weekend, I saw a driver (not in our city) pull out of a restaurant driveway onto the street without stopping.  I watched them pull out of the driveway directly into the path of another vehicle.  But I’ve seen it many times and many places.  Michigan law says:

257.652 Stopping before entering or crossing highway from alley, private road, or driveway; violation as civil infraction. 

Sec. 652. (1) The driver of a vehicle about to enter or cross a highway from an alley, private road, or driveway shall come to a full stop before entering the highway and shall yield right of way to vehicles approaching on the highway.

(2) A person who violates this section is responsible for a civil infraction.

This is NOT a new law.  It has been on the books forever.  But I see people violate it constantly.  No stop sign is necessary–it is a driving rule/law that licensed drivers are supposed to know.  It is a crash causer which is why it is against the law.  

Ok–I’ll get off my soapbox–but I’m keeping my ticket book handy. 

 

 

.