Code Officials Keep You Safe

When I read this I wanted to share it with you.  I’m all about it.   Building codes and fire safety codes DO keep us safe.  In my new role as the Director of Emergency Services, I’ve been learning a great deal more about fire and building codes.  I have great faith in our two fire inspectors and their partnership with our Building Official, Jeff Spencer and Community Development/Planning Director, Steve Cohen and their entire staff.  Building collapse and horrible fires where many people lose their lives, can often be attributed to lack of code enforcement.  It is critical to our safety as individuals and as a community.

So count me as alongside the Governor on this one.

LARA – Governor Snyder Proclaims May 2013 as Building Safety Month; “Code Officials Keep You Safe”.