One Team, One Fight: Vast Improvements in Information Sharing and Cooperation

I am a member of the International Association of Chiefs of Police and have been for more than 20 years. I belong because I have found them to be the thought leader of my profession and a source of useful information for me as a chief. I particularly ilked this blog by the Executive Director, Bart Johnson because he outlines what has been achieved by law enforcement agencies since 2001 and which we saw on display in the recent events in Boston. Here in SE Michigan we also have worked to develop these same capablities. While I hope that we are never called upon to use these skills –I am comforted in the knowledge that we have them and practice them with some regularity.

IACP Blog

By Bart R. Johnson, IACP Executive Director.

I received an email yesterday from Colonel Tim Alben of the Massachusetts State Police about the Boston bombings. His email to me read, in part:

Since 9/11, we’ve understood that the only way to defeat this terrorist threat is through collaborative efforts and partnerships between local, state and federal law enforcement. These partnerships are critical to any hope of success but talking about issues like this can often be easier than actual implementation. My partners last week were FBI SAC Richard DesLauriers, Commissioner Ed Davis of Boston PD, Chief Ed Deveau of the Watertown PD and Wilmington Police Chief Mike Begonis who directed the Northeast Massachusetts Law Enforcement Council (NEMLEC) Tactical Teams. I also want to add that during the very fluid events last Friday, I asked Colonels Bob Quinn of New Hampshire and Steve O’Donnell of Rhode Island to send me their…

View original post 626 more words