An Example of What Police Work is About

Today I received a letter from one of our residents about her encounter with one of our officers recently.  I’ve removed her name and address out of concern for her security but I thought you might like to know that policing is a many faceted job –every call brings a new challenge.  On January 8, Officer Jayson VanLandeghem was able to help out this resident who didn’t have anyone to call on to solve her potentially serious problem.

VanLandeghem Letter of Thanks

I appreciate the time she took to share with us what happened that day.  I haven’t seen Jayson to ask him about it but I know that if I did he would downplay it.  He’d say it wasn’t any big deal and that he was glad to do it–all in a day’s work.  A really, really cold day’s work by the way–you might remember that was a day of bone-chilling temperatures outside.

Yes, we still enforce the law and arrest people when we need to.  We write traffic tickets to encourage people to improve their driving ability and not crash their cars.  But we also do this.  And we are proud of Officer VanLandeghem and his willingness to take a few minutes to help out a person in need in an unexpected way.

Officer Jayson VanLandeghem as a member of the Honor Guard

Officer Jayson VanLandeghem as a member of the Honor Guard

The Jayson we know

The Jayson we know