Odd Byproduct of Legal Marijuana: Homes That Blow Up – NYTimes.com

I have actually visited a “medical” marijuana dispensary a couple of years ago when the city was considering whether to allow dispensariesmedical mj.  This was before the county prosecutor and the attorney general determined that dispensaries are illegal.  Ok, so I wasn’t really clear about who I was–just part of the city team.  So the proprietors were talkative.  They were pretty up front about what they were doing and I was shocked to see how focused they were on producing hash oil and making food products to sell (all without food handling licenses, I might add), and their vision about how much more they can do with hash oil.  They clearly saw it as very profitable.  I can see that if we legalize or expand “medical” marijuana in Michigan, we will be facing more than the problems of grow houses (also dangerous places).  We’ll be facing dangerous situations from the hash oil “chemists.”

Odd Byproduct of Legal Marijuana: Homes That Blow Up – NYTimes.com.