I Am A Girl Scout

20150325_153400

My Girl Scout pin

Sometimes I get asked how I became a police chief.  My usual answer is that I studied criminal justice in college and I wanted a job where I could be active and be part of making the world a better place –same answer lots of police officers give.  I know that part of the reason I am asked the question is because I am a woman and some people are mystified by how I could lead an organization like this.  Being a police chief is an active and engaging profession that requires leadership skills to a high degree.  A major factor in developing the determination and the confidence to become a leader was as a result of the opportunities I had as a Girl Scout.  I spent years as a Girl Scout, as a Brownie through senior level.  My mother was a troop leader and believed in the mission of Girl Scouts.  Ask around, many women who are leaders in their professions were also Girl Scouts.

Tonight after work, I’m attending the Girl Scouts of Southeastern Michigan Cookie Gala at DTE Headquarters in downtown Detroit.  I am a board member for the Girl Scouts of Southeastern Michigan and it is my honor to give something back to an organization that gave so much to me.

The Cookie Gala is an event that raises funds for Girl Scouts in this area.  This event also honors “One Tough Cookie”- 16 women whose contributions to the community inspire us all.   Plus local chefs show off what all can be made using Girl Scout Cookies–delicious!

I still remember the Girl Scout Promise and live by the Girl Scout Law:

On my honor, I will try:
To serve God and my country,
To help people at all times,
And to live by the Girl Scout Law.

The Girl Scout Law

I will do my best to be
honest and fair,
friendly and helpful,
considerate and caring,
courageous and strong, and
responsible for what I say and do,
and to
respect myself and others,
respect authority,
use resources wisely,
make the world a better place, and
be a sister to every Girl Scout.

Who could argue with that?