#WhyIWearTheBadge Wednesday – I Wear the Badge For You

One last entry in the “Why I Wear the Badge” campaign. The stories of the officers in this campaign have been amazing. I think the campaign has given a view into the diversity of police and their motivations for becoming police officers. The stories of the real police are so much more than what a person can see on television or in movies.

IACP Blog

This post is part of our on-going #WhyIWearTheBadge Wednesday blog series.

woodway1Guest blogger: Sergeant Khalil Abdallah El-Halabi, Woodway, Texas, Police Department

“Son… serve these people with everything you have.” I can still remember those words being whispered to me in Arabic by my father on the night of my Police Academy graduation. Why I wear the badge requires a multifaceted answer, an answer that stimulates a rush of emotions that are incredibly difficult to accurately put into words, but it is my duty to try. I was born in an area south of Beirut, Lebanon, during its bloody civil war. I was born to a father who fought for our safety and a beautiful mother that spent many of her nights shielding us in poorly built bomb shelters underground. My father is a man of great integrity who waited decades for a simple green card in order to get his…

View original post 715 more words