Edible Marijuana Labels Often Have Potency Wrong, Study Says – The New York Times

As Michigan considers whether to legalize marijuana for recreational use, we should consider all of the aspects of legalization including food products.  One of the biggest challenges to states that have legalized is the issue of potency.  Potency impacts the level of impairment.  We know through scientific study at what level of alcohol in a person’s blood impairment to drive occurs.  And we know about how long it will last.  We don’t know that with marijuana.  I know there are people out there who argue that there isn’t any impairment but that just isn’t credible.

So if you are not smoking marijuana but ingesting it through food is the potency and therefore the level of impairment known?  How long will it last?  Do I want my child care provider to ingest and then care for my child?  How much time before it is out of their system?  Do I want other professionals to provide services to me without knowing their level of impairment?  What about other drivers on the road with my family?

Edible Marijuana Labels Often Have Potency Wrong, Study Says – The New York Times.

There are no simple answers.