Traffic Enforcement: Revenue or Safety?

I thought I’d reblog this post I did about 3 years ago.

Auburn Hills Police Department

Here is a blog I posted about 2 years ago.  There is a lot of misinformation about this topic and I am frequently asked about it.  So I thought I’d post it again.

Earlier this week I spent some time responding to a driver who was upset that he received a ticket from us at Harmon and M24.  The ticket was for disobeying the traffic signal (running a red light) and he felt that he had no options once the light turned yellow since he did not know when the light was turning red and therefore how much time he had to get through the intersection.  He included a magazine article where the writer was arguing that traffic tickets are about increasing revenues to support police.  As I was writing the response I was also thinking about the double funeral I am attending this weekend for an elderly couple killed in a traffic…

View original post 647 more words