We Do Vacation Home Checks

This is a topic I hadn’t thought about for quite a while.  It is one of those systems that hums along without much input from me.  People call us to tell us they will be out of town and ask us to check on their home while they are gone.  We have done it fohouse-checkr as long as I can remember.  I know we are still doing it on a regular basis since I see the notifications to patrol from dispatch when one comes in.

If you are interested, call our dispatch non emergency number at 248-370-9444 and tell them you are interested in a vacation home check.  Dispatch will need some information from you like the dates you’ll be gone, whether lights are on timers, who may be coming and going from your home and how to contact you in the event we need to.

We will check it as often as we can. Officers each receive assigned homes and are responsible to check them during their shift.

It is really important to call us as soon as you get home.  No matter how late it is-we are open 24 hrs, 365 days per year.  I have had the unfortunate occasion to surprise a homeowner who had just returned home and it wasn’t pleasant for them or me.  Officers don’t know who the homeowner is on sight so they have to react as if the person was an unwanted intruder until it is proven otherwise.  And we want to avoid the complications of all that.