Guest Blogger, Recently Retired PSO Gina Thomas Thanks the Community

To the citizens of Auburn Hills,

My name is PSO Gina Thomas, and I wanted to take a moment to thank you.  But first, I would like to give you some background.  You see, my great grandmother lived in Auburn Hills.  My grandparents lived across the street from her.  That’s where my mother grew up, and my uncle still lives there.  I also have other relatives living in this city.  My point is that Auburn Hills has always been a part of my life.  On May 20th, 1991 I hired on the Police Department as a PSO (911 operator/Police-Fire Dispatcher).  Back then, there was no Chrysler headquarters.  Blue Sky Drive In was still at Opdyke and Pontiac Rd.  And Squirrel Rd was a one-lane dirt road.  I have been part of the City’s growing pains – and joys – for the past 25 years.

During my career, I have had many opportunities.  I was in charge of reporting criminal statistics to the State for several years, and trained countless new dispatchers.  For the past 14 years I have been the Department’s liaison to the State, making sure our policies, use of criminal justice information, and computer securities are all in compliance with State and Federal standards.  While all of these things are behind the scenes, they still have an impact on how we serve the community.  However, the greatest opportunity of my career has always been my main responsibility – answering your calls and dispatching help to you.  This is where I get to thank you.  You have all made it so easy to love my profession, made it so rewarding.  That’s not to say it was an easy profession.  Let’s face it – the majority of my contact with you was probably during a stressful or unpleasant time in your day or your life.  It may have been the worst, scariest, or most devastating moment of your life.  If I was able to provide just one of you with comfort, safety, or made you feel just a little less lonely in that moment, then it was all worth it.  You were worth it.

After more than 25 years serving the citizens, the officers, and the firefighters of Auburn Hills, it’s time for me to retire.  But I didn’t want to leave without telling you what an absolute honor it has been.  God bless this community and keep it safe!