Doing the right thing everyday

Some good thoughts on policing from MCOLES Executive Director Dave Harvey

Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement Standards

I have the privilege of instructing new procedures on how to conduct photographic line-ups. The new procedures were developed through the work of the State Bar of Michigan Task force on Eyewitness Identification. After being trained by a Police Chief from Connecticut I have been traveling the State with the training.

I was challenged recently by an attorney who was skeptical if law enforcement was listening to the training especially when I highlight how misidentification can occur with current procedures. My response to him was that no police officer I know or have known wants to see the wrong person go to jail. If for no other reason than the actual perpetrator is out continuing to commit crimes.  But overall we always strive to do the “right thing”, mistakes happen as they do in any profession.

To believe that law enforcement is infallible is either self-serving to prove a point…

View original post 220 more words